Alabama 3 – new single ‘Whacked’ drops today

Alabama 3 release new single Whacked on Submarine Cat Records and announce album and tour dates for 2022.

South London genre-blending story tellers, Alabama 3 are set to further add to their rich musical heritage with a new single Whacked out today via Submarine Cat Records, taken from new album titled Step 13 to follow on August 20th.

Video below

Whacked is the first taste of fresh Alabama 3 material since the tragic death of the beloved and unconventional The Very Reverend D Wayne Love, in May, 2019.

Then, with the Covid-19 pandemic and lockdown upon the world, the band had no option but to get creative and submerged themselves in their music, teaming up with producer Cam Blackwood (George Ezra, Jack Savoretti, Tom Walker, Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes…) to focus their minds on something vital, new and fresh.

This can clearly be heard in Whacked, a song written by Pete Dunne and Nik Diesel.

A product of old skool Brixton, from the legendary Seven Kevin’s band. ”He threatened us with this song prior to his untimely death,” explains lead singer Larry Love. “Despite the heavy manners we are proud to declare we rose to the challenge.

Whacked was recorded in the early weeks of the first UK lockdown in March 2020,” says producer Cam Blackwood. “I think the hedonistic spirit of the song was amplified a million times by the fact we were making the record remotely – with the musicians in the band recording their parts at home, sending them all to me to collate and arrange – then I would send the instrumental track to Larry to record vocals on. The energy was pretty insane – we were like caged animals desperate to get out“.

We managed to find time three months later (when the first lockdown ended in July 2020) to get together and put the finishing touches to the song,” continues Cam. “Being in the studio with a few beers seemed like a fitting way to finalise the tune and put the last 1% of energy into the recording. This song feels like classic Alabama 3 to me. It’s a banger!

Indeed, it is. A low-slung groove propelled by front man Larry Love’s infamous throat rattle, with the addictive chorus refrain “Everybody’s getting whacked on something, something that makes them feel good

Alabama 3 are very much back. Time to get whacked.

Lead photo credit – Rob Blackham

See Alabama 3 live at the following dates in March/April 2022:

Thursday 17 March 2022 Cambridge, The Junction

Friday 18 March 2022 Birmingham, Institute 2

Saturday 19 March 2022 Liverpool, O2 Academy

Friday 25 March 2022 Dublin, Academy

Saturday 26 March 2022 Belfast, Limelight

Thursday 31 March 2022 Brighton, Concorde 2

Friday 1 April 2022 Southampton, Engine Rooms

Saturday 2 April 2022 Exeter, Phoenix

Sunday 3 April 2022 Bournemouth, Old Fire Station

Thursday 7 April 2022 Newcastle, Boiler Shop

Friday 8 April 2022 Edinburgh, Liquid Rooms

Saturday 9 April 2022 Glasgow, SWG3

Sunday 10 April 2022 Kendal, Brewery Art Centre

Thursday 14 April 2022 Cardiff, Tramshed

Friday 15 April 2022 Holmfirth, Picturedrome

Saturday 16 April 2022 Manchester, O2 Ritz

Sunday 17 April 2022 Leeds, Warehouse

Wednesday 27 April 2022 Reading, Sub89

Thursday 28 April 2022 Oxford O2 Academy

Friday 29 April 2022 Bristol, O2 Academy

Saturday 30 April 2022 London, SBE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s